SAA’s Merit Award


SAA’s Board Member with the SAA Merit Awardees

An award ceremony also took place at the event in recognition of outstanding contribution to the HIV/AIDS response in Africa. Three people among so many who have demonstrated extraordinary commitment to the Society for AIDS in Africa’s AIDS response in Africa over the past few years were awarded.

Dr. Meskerem Grunitzky-Bekele receiving her Award from Prof. Peter Piot

Dr. Meskerem Grunitzky-Bekele, Director of the UNAIDS Regional Support Team for West and Central Africa, was among the recipients for her leading role and support to SAA, specially in organizing the leadership program at ICASA. She received SAA’s Merit award from the Director of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and former UNAIDS Executive Director Prof. Peter Piot.

Prof Femi Soyinka receiving his award from H.E Minister of Health Dr. Tedros

Prof Femi Soyinka former SAA President ( 2006- 2009) was also recognized for sustained and reengineering the SAA functional Secretariat to a Permanent Head Quarter in Ghana, after chairing the ICASA Abuja 14th Edition. He received his Award from His Excellency the Ethiopian Minister of Heath, Dr Tedros.

Prof. Elie Katabira receiving Bernard Award Dr Sylvia Anie, Commonwealth

Mr. Bernard Kadasia, Director of Policy and Communications at the International AIDS Society were also part of the awardees for his dedication and support over the year to the SAA and ICASA as well. Prof Elie Katabira the IAS elect President received the Award from Dr Sylvia Anie, Commonwealth, Director Social Transformation Programmes Division, on behalf of Mr Bernard Kadasia
( see picture second left)

Leave any Comment or Questions